A Bloggy Birthday and a Brief Book Review

My blog is one year old today. I’ve enjoyed writing here, in fits and starts, over the past year. Thank you for reading. Happy birthday, blog. Have a celebratory glass of champagne!

Happy new year! #champagne #Hello2015

A post shared by Kate Lunn-Pigula (@katelunnpigula) on

Here are some brief thoughts on The Snow Kimono by Mark Henshaw:

On the same day that a retired police inspector discovers that he may have a daughter, a retired Japanese professor shows up at his apartment with a story to tell. Both stories unravel together.

At another time this ‘literary thriller’ might have appealed greatly to me. The book is beautifully written, yet sometimes it feels that this beauty is prioritised over the storytelling. It reminds me of In The Light of What We Know, another book I struggled with.

Henshaw is a talented writer and I look forward to seeing what he comes up with next.

Thank you for the copy, BookBridgr.com.

6 thoughts on “A Bloggy Birthday and a Brief Book Review

Comments are closed.