Books I Read in February

I thought I’d try a different type of post on here because I sometimes don’t feel like properly reviewing every book I read. I read a good amount in February, and I read some brilliant books. I also read three and a half of the books on my #TBR20 stack, making the pile only slightly smaller. So, here are the books I read in February:

The Reader by Bernard Schlink (1 of #TBR20)

Loved it, it left a strong impression on me. My review is here.

Wolf Winter by Cecilia Ekback

Ekback’s impressive debut. I still find myself thinking about the mountain and its inhabitants. My thoughts are here.

Asleep by Banana Yoshimoto (2 of #TBR20)

Again I loved it and want to read more Yoshimoto as soon as possible. My review is here.

Cold in Hand by John Harvey

DI Resnick’s penultimate novel was a very interesting read for me. It’s set where I live, which is always fun in a book (thinking things like ‘I walk down that road!’). I very rarely read crime fiction and now I’d like to read more of it. I found this book addictive, even though I read it on my phone (which I won’t do again because it hurt my eyes). I found it quite upsetting in places, for surprising reasons.

Jazz by Toni Morrison (3 of #TBR20)

I didn’t know what was happening for large swathes of this, but I enjoyed letting it wash over me. There isn’t much in terms of plot, but the way the characters’ pasts go right back through to their ancestors was so clever. Technically I loved it, and I would like to reread it or research it. I’m sure there was a lot I missed. I love how Morrison took a simple love triangle story and made it complex and meaningful. Very impressive.

The Offering by Grace McCleen

I read this for a For Books’ Sake review, so if you want to know what I thought then head over there in a couple of weeks!

Did Not Finish

Mad, Bad and Sad by Lisa Appignanesi (Would-be-4 of #TBR20)

I thought I should get around to reading my first non-fiction of the year but I just wasn’t into it. I don’t quite know why: maybe I’d just rather be reading fiction at the moment. When I bought it , over four years ago, I thought I would love this book about the history of women and mental illness. But now I’m not sure if it’s worth ploughing through (it’s over 600 pages).

One thought on “Books I Read in February

Comments are closed.