My #TBR20

The #books that have been on my #tbr pile the longest #TBR20 #bookstagram

A post shared by Kate Lunn-Pigula (@katelunnpigula) on


Sometimes I look at my bookshelves and wonder how long various books have been sitting there. I often forget I own certain books, or forget what made them sound so interesting to me in the first place. A new shiny book will come along and I’ll forget about others.

After seeing Naomi’s post last week where she writes about doing something with her own mounting TBR pile, I thought I’d do something similar. #TBR20 was started off by Eva Stalker last year (here’s her original post). The idea is that you pick twenty books which you haven’t read and read them all before buying any more.

But I’m not going to ban myself from buying books because there are a lot of books I want to read in 2015, and I haven’t been buying too many lately. But these books are staying on my desk and I am not allowed to put them away until they have been read (or given to charity shops if I don’t like them). They will annoy me, so I will have to read them.

I’ve picked books that have been sitting on my shelves the longest. Most of these books have survived two house moves. They have sat watching me as I completed an entire degree. The Lorrie Moore book was the first book my boyfriend bought for me, over four years ago. I have wanted to read Banana Yoshimoto for years. I bought The Reader after I saw the film in 2009. Amazon tells me that I bought The Complete Claudine in February 2007. That’s eight whole years ago. And clearly, from the books I have posted here, I have a little aversion to longer books. I have wanted to read The Better Angels of Our Nature and Mad, Bad and Sad for ages but look at the size of them. They look like a lot of effort.

I suppose I better get reading. I’m not sure what to start first. I’m reading the MaddAddam trilogy by Margaret Atwood at the moment but after that I am going to get stuck into some of these neglected books.

Have you read any of these books? Are there any you recommend or would avoid? Are you doing your own #TBR20?

2 thoughts on “My #TBR20

Comments are closed.